SCLRR is pleased to present Bella Rose.

2020-09-10: Hello! My name is Bella Rose but everyone just calls me Bella. I am a very active 13 month old black female and I weigh 62 pounds. I am so sweet but have a lot of energy and need a daily routine of activity, like walking, running, or swimming in the ocean. I love to play with my toys (sometimes they explode) and I love to fetch the ball. My foster Mom has seen me at times with my ball and other toys in my mouth, all at once. I love to chew on things, especially flip flops, so its a good idea not to leave them where I might get them. After all I am still a young pup.

My foster Mom calls me a Velcro dog, I am always at her side. I am a very smart, I know sit, high five and down but there is so much more I can learn and I really like to please. I don’t have a backyard right now so I get walked several times a day. I have to use a pinch collar because I love to smell everything and when I see other dogs I can’t control myself, I get so excited. I’ve been improving so my new family will have to have patience and continue training me! I am friendly with kids but should probably be adopted by a family with older kids as I jump up when I get excited. Once I get my exercise for the day, I will settle really well in the house.

Because I spent all my time outside before SCLRR, I didn’t know where to go potty, but my foster Mom helped me understand how this works. I do bark when I hear outside noises, but I settle down with distraction. If you go outside and don’t take me with you I will bark initially but then I settle down. When I first came to my foster family I wasn’t too sure about the guy (foster dad) that was there so I would bark at him, but I realized he isn’t a bad person. I loved when he took me to the ocean, we had so much fun. I can be a little timid when around new people I just need to get to know them. I am not too sure about cats, my neighbors have one and I bark when I see him through the window. I see these things that fly. I heard they call them birds and I would love to chase them.

I sleep in my crate (in my foster family’s bedroom) every night without any issues. A few times I have been left out of the crate and I just curled up on the rug and slept. I really don’t like to be alone for long periods of time, but have been left alone in a restricted area of the house for a few hours with some nice music playing and my mom says I did great. I love to ride in the car and will settle down once we get going, my foster Mom will put a gate between the seats so I don’t distract her when she’s driving.

My ideal family will know what it’s like to have a young pup and how much work we are, I would like to have a backyard for playtime only, and someone that is home most, if not all of the time. I think I would prefer to be an only dog with no cats, someone that is willing to exercise me and train me so I can give lots of love back to you for the rest of my life!

If you are interested in making this Lab part of your family, please contact your SCLRR family representative. If you have not yet applied with us, please submit an online application to adopt; an SCLRR volunteer will then contact you. Please note that your homecheck must first be approved in order for you to be put in touch with a dog’s foster home.